Dear iTunes Play Count

Dear iTunes Play Count,
What’s with the judgment?
I know that you’re just part of a computer program and thus, incapable of judgment, but that doesn’t stop the feeling of shame when certain songs reach the double digits… I have a problem, okay? I’m just not ready to admit it.
Yes, I’m a repeater.
For those of you who are unaware of the very serious condition of repeating, allow me to explain.
Do you ever come across a new song that just gets in your head? You listen to it and then before you know it, you’ve put it on again. Before you know it, you’ve only had the song in your iTunes for less than 24 hours and you’ve already listened to it at least 15 times.
For those in extreme denial, sometimes it manifests in listening to the majority of the song and then when there are only a few seconds left, pausing it or skipping it so the iTunes play count doesn’t register it.
If you or a loved one suffers from a repetition problem, chances are… well, chances are nobody really cares. It’s not acknowledged as a very serious problem in the medical community…
Still, I won’t let you win iTunes Play Count. I’m on to you. At this point, it becomes mandatory to erase my footsteps every 6 months or so. For instance, now it only says I’ve listened to the Hall & Oates song “Rich Girl” 35 times.
Anyone who knows me knows that that’s a gross underestimation but through the careful resetting of my play count every few months, I’ve been able to hide any trace of my addiction to Hall & Oates or my repeating habit.
Your move, iTunes. But I’m pretty sure I’ve got you beat with this one.
Sincerely,
C Money

Leave a Reply

