Dear Cyclops

Dear Cyclops,
I don’t really know how to start this… I’ve never really written a Dear John letter before.
Look, I was happy to help pick up the pieces after the whole Jean Grey/Logan/You thing, but good God man, it’s time to move on. But that’s really partially my fault.
Taking advantage of an emotionally vulnerable mutant? I mean, I’ve done some bad stuff before. Well, not Brotherhood bad, but you know what I mean… I’m not perfect, but that one might take the cake.
In my defense, it had been a long time coming. I mean, when I first saw you back in 1992, before I even knew what being gay meant, I always knew I liked you for a reason.
Everyone else wanted to be Wolverine when we played pretend, but for me, there was no other choice but Scott Summers.
But people grow up. They get older. They change.
the All-American good guy ideals you represent used to be charming, but on closer inspection, you just kinda come off as self-righteous and, well, a bit of a wuss.
So please know that I mean this from the bottom of my heart.
It’s not me, it’s you.
Sincerely,
Calhoun

Leave a Reply

