Dear Young Woman on the Phone Across From Me

Dear Young Woman on the Phone Across From Me,
I understand you must be busy. Your mind must be racing most of the time, but conducting business at a coffee shop?
Okay, yes, most of us do it, but the difference is, most of us are tele-commuters whose only noise is the typing of the keyboard.
As you prattle on about salmon and kosher options, I can’t help but be filled with the desire to take an air horn to my ears and temporarily deafen myself so that I don’t have to hear anymore about the alarmingly uninteresting trials and tribulations of your daily life.
Matters weren’t helped when you ended your call with a “peace out.”
(For readers, imagine the whitest woman alive uttering those words… painful, isn’t it?)
I don’t pretend to know much about the professional world, but is that really an accepted form of saying goodbye?
Then again, the horrid words leaving your lips at least meant an end to your conversation, so I guess I can’t be too upset.
Sincerely,
Calhoun

2 thoughts on “Dear Young Woman on the Phone Across From Me

Leave a Reply

