Dear Aunt Kathy

Dear Aunt Kathy,
We need to talk.
I was happy to merely co-exist, letting you do your thing and I’ll do mine, until this happened. Now, I don’t know where you’re getting your information from, but I’d like to see some sources on this stuff.
More importantly, I’d like to know who signed off on this article.
It’s not that it isn’t an interesting idea. It’s the execution.
You pretty much mock liberals for claiming to be more tolerant, while exercising no tolerance of your own. My personal favorite is the following line…
“Liberals tend to explain policy disagreements by imputing evil motives like selfishness to conservatives, while conservatives (more charitably) tend to view liberals as well-meaning but misguided.”
Now I know my fair share of liberals (and conservatives) that demonize the other party, but is it really any better to “objectively” define the other group (liberals) while talking up your own belief system?
Seriously, I have never seen a more loaded statement than your casual aside of “more charitably.”
The fact of the matter is, you and I will never agree.
I’ve come to terms with that. In fact, I came to terms with it long ago, but you hiding your dislike and your dissent under the guise of being “informed” and a “journalist” is both shameful and laughable. Last I checked, the Republican party was still preying on misinformation to get its voters to weigh in on birth control. Just a little perspective for ya.
Sincerely,
Calhoun

One thought on “Dear Aunt Kathy

  1. Lol very even toned and tolerant reply congratulations…yes a certain there is much hyperbole and hypocricy in politics…but yes nothing makes a mockery out of your argument than when you perpetrate the very crime you are there to denounce…

Leave a Reply

