Dear Neighbor

Dear Neighbor,
I’m sure this is at least partially my fault.
Evidently I gave you the impression that, since I responded to your casual wave with a polite head nod, I’m a friendly person.
I’m not.
I’m a curmudgeon.
But after that one head nod, apparently I signed on for an eternity of meaningless conversation and uneasy half-smiles.
This was clearly my mistake.
I just thought I’d let you know, if you wanted to go back to pretending that we both don’t know each other, I’d be cool with that too.
Sincerely,
Calhoun

Leave a Reply

