Dear Matt Zoller Seitz

Dear Matt Zoller Seitz,
Hi, how are you? (or readers who may be unfamiliar with Mr. Seitz’s work, he is the author of the TV Review The New Normal is Modern Family Lite) If you have a moment, I’d like to talk to you about your work. To give you a little background, I also write review, more movies than television, but a little bit of both.
I actually found your article quite interesting, as someone who also has a bit of an issue with The New Normal. I actually think your remarks about the outrageous stereotyping and the somewhat troubling lack of sincerity is the show’s biggest problem.
But here’s my problem.
It’s the rhetoric you use to problematize the show, specifically Modern Family Lite. How is The New Normal like Modern Family? Is it because they’re both about family? Possibly. Unfortunately, it seems far more likely that the comparison was drawn because of its gay characters, much like Modern family‘s Mitch and Cam. I won’t go into my issues with this couple, but do you see the problem between the connection between the two?
They aren’t connected at all. Oh wait, yes, they are… they’re both gay and hilariously ill-equipped to have kids? Is that what we’re goin’ with? That kind of logic is exactly the same stereotyping that you’re accusing the show of.
I didn’t like it in the show and to be honest, I don’t like it in your article. I’m sure it was included because it is, undeniably, a punchy line that does make for a pretty great title, but it has implications besides its journalistic appeal.
I loved the rest of the article and couldn’t agree with you more, but that line, as simple and clever as you may think it is, is just as problematic as the controversy surrounding the show.
Sincerely,
Calhoun

2 thoughts on “Dear Matt Zoller Seitz

  1. Dear Calhoun:

    You’re right. As a perpetually recovering straight white man, I try to be on guard against problematic language, but some times I’m not successful. Thank you for pointing this out. If I could go back in time and not write that line, I would.

    Sincerely,
    Matt

    • Thank you so much for your response, I really appreciate it. I mean that very sincerely. As I said, I loved the article it was just that comparison… but to be fair, I know that I’m obviously sensitive to the issue.
      However, your willingness to listen to someone else’s perspective, such as mine, is truly a credit to you as a journalist and reviewer.
      This really and truly made my day, so thank you!

Leave a Reply

