Dear Friends & Family… On Driving

Dear Friends & Family,
I know Hallmark and Whitman’s would have you believe in such a thing as “unrequited love.” Well, I’m here to tell you, that is a fallacy. I’m not much of a romantic, but when in question, I will do just about anything for my friends. My friends are my family. I love my friends. Well, the closest I come to feeling love is how I feel about my friends.
That, dear readers, was all thrown into question last night.
As a dutiful roommate and good friend, when my buddy asked me to drive him to West Hollywood, I said, “sure, why not?”
Here’s why not.
After my car died, we finally got a charge, and we were ready to go. After a laborious make-up session (not on my part… I sat in the car and waited) we were finally ready to go. From North Hollywood to West Hollywood? Roughly 45 minutes.
The two folks I was giving a ride to were very appreciative and as we neared their final destination, I heard one of them say, “Not much more to go, we’re almost there!”
To which I gruffly replied, “No, no, no, you’re almost there. I still hafta get back home.”
I dropped them off, and they were very gracious.
I then proceeded to spend the next hour in my car, trying to drive the 5 miles to get back home.
That being said, I love my friends dearly, but they are sadly mistaken if they think I’m going to spend all of my night driving anyone 5 miles away. I’d like to think I’m a good friend, but even friendship has limitations.
Don’t make the same mistake I did. Don’t drive to WeHo on Halloween night… for anyone.
Sincerely,
Calhoun

2 thoughts on “Dear Friends & Family… On Driving

  1. You should adapt my philosophy…..”The 4 F’s”!

    When you FEED, FUCK, FINANCE, AND OFFER ME FRIENDSHIP….then we will talk. I don’t expect all 4, but if you can we might get along.

    LOL

    I sound horrible, but I have learned you just cannot be nice. I try occasionally to be sure I was just having one of those bad days and encountered a crappy person….but I am usually back to the same thought after I try to be nice. Most people take advantage even if they claim to be appreciative. It seems to be the norm. LOL

    Keep the great post coming. I do enjoy reading every day. It makes my day before lunch. Since you move to LA your now 2 hours behind me. So when your posting its getting close to noon my time in Texas. So it kind of helps on the downward hill road to 5pm when I get to laugh a little.

    Thanks

    Bob

    • Yeah, I was glad that they were happy, just wasn’t thrilled about how NOT happy I was. It just quickly turned into a shit show and I just wanted to be at home. To make matters worse, I just got the Hitchcock Masterpiece Collection on blu ray yesterday. All I wanted to do was go home, get in my pajamas, and watch Jimmy Stewart watch people (Rear Window is one of my favorites) but instead, I spent roughly four and a half hours in a car.

      Glad I could help a little with the tedium! Hope Texas is treating you well!

Leave a Reply

