Dear Lady Who Tied My Shoe Yesterday

images (25)

Dear Lady Who Tied My Shoe Yesterday,
I just wanted to say thank you.
It’s hard running with a shoe untied, especially when the laces keep whipping the back of your other calf.
I mean, there you were, just sitting on the street corner with some friends, when I stopped to wait for the crosswalk. Seemed as good a time as any to tie my shoe but, well, as you noticed, tying your shoes with one hand is- well, it’s not easy.
When you offered to help, I felt bad. I’m not the kinda guy who likes to ask for help, but I wasn’t lookin’ at many other options.
You were cordial and happily obliged, for which I said an almost obnoxious amount of ‘thank you’s.
As you finished up, you looked up at me and said, “Oh, it’s no problem, I do it for my kids all the time!”
Neat? I mean, I get what you’re saying but, well, I’m not one of your kids… In fact, I looked like I had at least 2 years on you. At least 5 inches and probably a solid 35 lbs. but most importantly, I’m older than you!
Your help was appreciated, comparing me to your kids? Yeah, that was not… just, like, a heads up or whatever.
Sincerely,
Calhoun

Leave a Reply

