Dear Student Nurse

Student_Nurse(1947)

Dear Student Nurse,
Look, you, uh- you really don’t hafta be here.
I was trying to do the responsible thing for going in for an HIV/STD screening. Hell, I was even mature and used the proper anatomical terms, like penis, without laughing once.
Then, the, uh- that was about when the slut shaming began.
I nodded and smiled as the nurse told me about the fact that I’m a high-risk candidate, bein’ a homo and all. I didn’t even correct her and point out the growth of HIV/AIDS in the African-American community of young women, which has since replaced gay men as the most at-risk group.
Still, as I was detailing my sex life, the nervous tittering from the corner of the room was a little distracting. I mean, you should probably get that under control before you become, like, a real nurse…. besides being unprofessional- actually, no, it’s pretty much just the unprofessional thing. I’m just lucky you weren’t there for when the nurse asked me for an anal swab…
Sincerely,
Calhoun

One thought on “Dear Student Nurse

Leave a Reply

