Dear Random Girl

bambina-con-fiocco-rosso-tra-i-capelli

Dear Random Girl,
I’m doing my best not to make this sound like a Craigslist Missed Connection, but so far, I’m comin’ up empty.
See, I was just finishing up my run this morning, when I saw you getting out of the passenger side of a car.
As you walked up the steps of the building we both live in (See? Totally not creepy or stalkerish) I was struck by the little bow you had in your hair.
In an attempt to not be awkward, I waited a few moments before saying, ‘I know this is really random to hear from a sweaty shirtless stranger… but I really like the bow in your hair.”
Yeah, that “not awkward” thing? Nailed it!
Luckily, she smiled and politely said thank you before continuing up the stairs when I arrived at my front door.
In a last-ditch effort, I turned around and said, “Sorry, I hope that didn’t seem totally creepy. I just realized how weird I sounded.”
She laughed again and said, “No, it’s totally one of those random things that makes my day.”
See that, people? I made someone’s day!
Guess who might not die bitter and alone after all?!?
… yeah, no, that “bitter and alone” thing is definitely still happening.
Still, it just made my day to make someone else’s day for once.
Sincerely,
Calhoun

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Calhoun. Bookmark the permalink.

About Calhoun

Ever think those thoughts that don't seem important enough to put down on paper? Welcome to my life. I write random thoughts, movie reviews, and the occasional work of fiction. Take a look around, there's a little bit of something for everyone.

Leave a Reply

